Discovery Awards

On November 21st a full-house of Nova Scotia’s best and brightest gathered at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel to celebrate the 11th Annual Discovery Awards for Science and Technology, which recognized the outstanding achievements by Nova Scotians in the fields of science, technology and innovation.

Awards were handed out in the following categories: Hall of Fame, Science Champion, Professional of Distinction, Emerging Professional, Innovation and Youth. For the full details on the winners and inductees, click here.

The 12th Annual Discovery Awards will take placein the third week of November 2014 at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel. If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities for this celebrated event, please contact Sandra Wood at 902-492-4422 x 226 or by email

The brightest minds in Nova Scotia will be there. Will you?


Dr. George Geoffrey Meyerhof, (1916-2003) was a world-renowned professor in Civil Engineering, a former Dean of the NS Technical College, now part of Dalhousie University, and a founding member of the Halifax Grammar School.

Dr. Thomas John (Jock) Murray is an internationally known neurologist, specializing in Multiple Sclerosis, a much loved professor and former Dean of Dalhousie University’s Medical School.


Innovation -  SENSELab

Emerging Professional – Christa Brosseau

Professional of Distinction – Noni MacDonald and Michael Graven

Science Champion – Richard Zurawski


Harishitaa Prithiviraj – Grade 8 student, Bible Hill School, Nova Scotia.

 Thank you to our 2013 Sponsors:

Maritimes and Northeast Pipeline St. Mary's University
Clearwater EnCana
goldDesjardins  DSM
goldRXD Stantec


Past Discovery Award Recipients

The videos of our Science Hall of Fame inductees are now on the Hall of Fame List at our Hall of Fame – You Tube Channel. You can check out our Professional of Distinction videos List, Emerging Professional videos List, Science Champion videos List, Innovation videos List and Youth Award videos List too. You can download a complete list of past recipients in Adobe Acrobat.